PSBA recognizes individuals and entities for contributions and achievements on behalf of public education in Pennsylvania

William Howard Day Award

The award is named in honor of the first African-American school board president in the United States. Day served the Harrisburg City School Board for six terms starting in 1878, and was a member of the Pennsylvania State Directors’ Association, the predecessor of the Pennsylvania School Boards Association (PSBA).

  • 2017 — State Senator Pat Browne (Lehigh Co.)
  • 2016 — Eugene DePasquale, PA Auditor General

Pennsylvania Education Innovation Awards

The award, initiated in 2017, recognizes innovative leadership in public school board governance, administration and teaching and is sponsored by CM Regent and CM Cares. 



  • Innovative School Board Award: Derry Township School Board, Dauphin County 
  • Innovative School Leader Award: Rob Caroselli, Fox Chase Elementary School, School District of Philadelphia 
  • Innovative Teacher Award: Kristen Albright, library media specialist, gifted support teacher and technology coach, Penns Valley Elementary and Intermediate School, Penns Valley Area School District, Centre County 

Chief Executive Officer’s Distinguished Service Pin

Established in 2017, the Distinguished Service Pin recognizes PSBA members, staff and education advocates for their extraordinary service and work on behalf of the Association.


  • Mark B. Miller
  • Barbara Bolas
  • Christina Griffiths
  • Roberta Marcus
  • Marianne Neel
  • Kathy Swope

Master School Board Director, Fellowship in School Governance

The Fellowship in School Governance capstone (2015) and the Master School Board Member accreditation programs (2008-15) honor the achievements of school directors who have made extra efforts to excel in their roles. The Fellows in School Governance have completed a required program of service and study in school governance. The Master School Board Member distinction is given to those who have demonstrated excellence in effective governance and service to students. Though both programs are no longer active, PSBA is developing a new certification program to be launched in 2018.

Master School Board Directors

  • Michael Faccinetto, Bethlehem Area, 2015
  • Susan Herman, Grove City, 2015
  • Larry Augustine, Selinsgrove Area, 2012
  • Brian Bressler, Tyrone Area, 2012
  • Maureen Grosheider, North Allegheny , 2012
  • Kimberly Grundon, East Pennsboro, 2012
  • Tom McGough, Plum Borough, 2012
  • Karen Whyte, Athens Area, 2012
  • Joseph Zupancic, Canon-McMillan, 2012
  • R. Baumgartner, Souderton Area, 2011
  • Richard Frerichs, Penn Manor, 2011
  • Daniel O'Keefe, Northgate, 2011
  • Atalanta Shabloski, Wellsboro Area, 2011
  • Vincent Sherpinsky, North Penn, 2011
  • Jody Sperry, Conneaut, 2010
  • Donald Yoder, Dallastown Area, 2010
  • Michael Paston, Upper Dublin, 2010
  • Kathy Swope, Lewisburg Area, 2010
  • Robert Bold, Parkland, 2009
  • Karen Brennan, Athens Area, 2009
  • Eric Wolfgang, Central York, 2009
  • Keith Reese, Bald Eagle, 2009
  • Donald Raifsnider, Muhlenberg, 2009
  • Barbara Frankhouser, 2008
  • Robert Lumley-Sapanski, Bellefonte Area, 2008
  • Marianne Neel, West Jefferson Hills, 2008
  • Pamela Hansen, Williamsport Area, 2008
  • Edward Maritz, Sto-Rox, 2008
  • Roberta Marcus, Parkland, 2008
  • Frederick Botterbusch, Dallastown Area, 2008
  • Idette Groff, Conestoga Valley, 2008
  • Lou Ann Evans, State College Area, 2008
  • Shauna D'Alessandro, West Jefferson Hills, 2008

Fellowship in School Governance

Inaugural Cohort, 2015
  • Todd Orner, Gettysburg Area
  • Daniel J. O'Keefe, Northgate
  • Carlotta J. Del Vecchio, Leechburg
  • Russell J. Diesinger, Exeter Township
  • Jane Schrader Lynch, Centennial
  • Mark B. Miller, Centennial
  • Robert W. Mahood, Richland
  • Anthony Rizzo, Richland
  • Michele Maffei, Coatesville
  • Glenn J. Tuttle, Crawford Central
  • Heidi Eby, Derry Township
  • Dr. Clythera S. Hornung, St. Marys Area
  • Richard Frerichs, Penn Manor
  • Joseph C. Zimmerman, Annville-Cleona
  • Roberta M. Marcus, Parkland
  • Claire Ann Buckley, Kane Area
  • Keith Hastings, Kane Area
  • Thomas Kerek, Kane
  • Eric T. Elvanian, Upper Merion Area
  • Maureen O'Leary, Lower Merion
  • Janet Flisak, Souderton
  • Maura Buri, Upper Merion
  • Darlene Garcia-Johnson, Milton Area
  • Lisa Anderson, Peters Township
  • Rebecca Bowman, Peters Township
  • Lawrence Borland, Franklin Regional
  • Eric Wolfgang, Central York
  • Kelly Mefford, Dover Area
  • Stacy Meyer, Spring Grove Area
  • Todd A. Gettys, West York

Allwein Advocacy Award

The Timothy M. Allwein Advocacy Award was established in 2011 by the Pennsylvania School Boards Association and may be presented annually to the individual school director or entire school board to recognize outstanding leadership in legislative advocacy efforts on behalf of public education and students that are consistent with the positions in PSBA’s Legislative Platform.

  • 2016 — Richard L. Frerichs, Penn Manor School District (Lancaster Co.)
  • 2015 — Lynn L. Foltz, Wilmington Area School District (Lawrence Co.)
  • 2014 — Shauna M. D’Alessandro CPA, West Jefferson Hills School District (Allegheny Co.)
    Mark B. Miller, Centennial School District (Bucks Co.)
  • 2013 — Tina Viletto, School District of Cheltenham Township (Montgomery Co.)
  • 2012 — Roberta M. Marcus, Parkland School District (Lehigh Co.)
  • 2011 — Lawrence A. Feinberg, The School District of Haverford Township (Delaware Co.)