Members of the Pennsylvania School Boards Association heard the election results for new officers at its Delegate Assembly on Friday, Oct. 20, at The Hershey Lodge & Convention Center. Open voting for members of PSBA was held from Aug. 24 to Oct. 12 through a secure, online voting website. The new officers will take their offices on Jan. 1, 2018, as part of the 12-member PSBA Governing Board. Officers of the 2018 Governing Board are listed below with (*) indicating positions that were up for election this year. 



President – Michael Faccinetto, Bethlehem Area SD (Northampton Co.) 

* President-elect – David Hutchinson, State College Area SD (Centre Co.) 

* Vice President – Eric Wolfgang, Central York SD (York Co.) 

*Treasurer – Mike Gossert, Cumberland Valley SD (Cumberland Co.) 

Immediate Past President – Kathy Swope, Lewisburg Area SD (Union Co.) 

Eastern At-Large Representative – Larry Feinberg, The SD of Haverford Township (Delaware Co.) 

*Central At-Large Representative – Larry Augustine, Selinsgrove Area SD (Snyder Co.) 

*Western At-Large Representative – Daniel O’Keefe, Northgate SD (Allegheny Co.) 


Members also elected trustees for the PSBA Insurance Trust. They include: 

  • Marianne L. Neel (West Jefferson Hills SD), term ends Dec. 31, 2020 
  • Michael Faccinetto (Bethlehem Area SD), term ends Dec. 31, 2020 


2018 PSBA President 

Michael Faccinetto, a PSBA Master School Board Director, has been a member of the Bethlehem Area School Board (Northampton Co.) since 2009, serving as president since 2011. Additionally he serves as negotiations chair and is a former Human Resources Committee chair. He is the past president and vice president of the Bethlehem Area Vo-Tech Board, which is a collaboration of three school districts. Faccinetto has been a licensed insurance agent in Pennsylvania for the past 16 years. He has a Bachelor of Science in insurance from Penn State University.  


2018 President-elect 

A 13-year veteran of the State College Area School Board (Centre Co.), David Hutchinson has served as the PSBA and legislative liaison since 2007. He enjoyed his three years on PSBA’s Platform Committee, and was the Centre/Clinton County legislative coordinator before becoming Region 4 director four years ago. He is committed to promoting good public policy and fostering relationships with legislators of both political parties. A graduate of Penn State University, David has lived in State College for more than 40 years.  


2018 Vice President 

A member of the Central York School Board (York Co.) since 1999, Eric Wolfgang has served as Board president for 11 of those years. He has served as the PSBA Liaison since 2002. Eric has represented PSBA as the PIAA District III representative for eight years and on the PIAA State committee for two years. A graduate of Penn State University with a degree in Electrical Engineering Technology, Eric is employed by Electronics Manufacturing Services Group as a Quality Assurance Manager.  


2018 Treasurer 

Mike Gossert, Cumberland Valley SD (Cumberland Co.), currently serves as president of his board. He also has served as chair of the Finance Committee and Joint Operating Committee for the Cumberland Area VoTech. He holds a bachelor's of science degree in Public Policy from Penn State University and a Masters of Public Administration from Shippensburg University. He is a former United States Marine. 


Eastern At-Large Representative 

A member of the Haverford Township SD Board (Delaware Co.) since 1999, Larry Feinberg is a strong advocate for public education at the local, regional, state and national levels. He serves as chair of the Delaware County School Boards Legislative Council, where he has been a member since 2000. In 2006, he founded and now co-chairs the Keystone State Education Coalition, publishing the daily PA Education Policy Roundup that reaches over 3,800 PA policymakers. 


Central At-Large Representative 

Larry Augustine, Selinsgrove Area SD (Snyder Co.), has served his school board for nearly 30 years. He has been a member of PSBA’s Governance Committee and PSBA liaison, and currently serves on the Legislative Advisory Committee. Augustine has served on the Central Susquehanna Intermediate Unit since 2012, both as vice president, and since 2013 as president.  In addition, he was the executive director of the Pennsylvania High School Speech League (PHSSL) from 1999 to 2016.   


Western At-Large Representative 

Daniel O’Keefe has served the Northgate Board of School Directors (Allegheny Co.) for more than 15 years, including three terms as board president. O’Keefe has had extensive involvement with PSBA as a member of the PSBA Governing Board since 2014, serving as his board’s PSBA liaison since 2007 and serving on the PSBA Bylaws Committee in 2013 and 2016. He is a member of the A.W. Beattie Career Center Joint Committee, currently serving as vice president, and the Allegheny Intermediate Unit 3 Board. 


2018 PSBA Immediate Past President 

Kathy K. Swope, a PSBA Master School Board Director, has been a member of the Lewisburg Area School Board (Union Co.) since 1999, serving as president from 2007 to present, and as LASD vice president from 2001-07.  She was the 2016 PSBA president and has been a member of PSBA’s Governing Board since 2008.  Swope is a member of the Early Learning Investment Committee of Susquehanna River Valley and chair of their Strategic Planning Committee and Champions of Early Childhood Education Initiative.  Swope holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in elementary education from Susquehanna University and is a self-employed freelance writer. 



CONTACT:Steve Robinson 

October 20, 2017Senior Director of Communications 

(O) 717-506-2450 x 3315 




PSBA is a nonprofit statewide association of public school boards, pledged to the highest ideals of local lay leadership for the public schools of the commonwealth. Founded in 1895, PSBA was the first school boards association established in the United States. 

Share this page