Twenty school board directors from across the state were recognized at the 2015 PASA-PSBA School Leadership Conference Oct. 14 for their completion of the Fellowship in School Governance program. The program was started by The Pennsylvania School Boards Association (PSBA) in early 2015 and is a capstone program for interested school board members who wish to go “above and beyond” in their commitment and professional preparation.

Program graduates received pins at the conference and delivered an education session outlining the findings of a team project.

The Fellowship program requires a time commitment over the course of a program year (January-October). Candidates are expected to actively participate and contribute to the work of the cohort for the entire program year.

The program contains five components:

  1. Learning through coursework
  2. A project the cohort envisions and completes during the year
  3. Service through mentoring or community presentations
  4. Documentation of completed projects and service requirements
  5. Recognition of those who have successfully complete the Fellowship during the PASA-PSBA School Leadership Conference

Members of the inaugural cohort who have completed the program include the following:

Todd OrnerGettysburg AreaAdams
Russell J. DiesingerExeter TownshipBerks
Mark B. MillerCentennialBucks
Robert W. MahoodRichlandCambria
Anthony RizzoRichlandCambria
Michele MaffeiCoatesvilleChester
Glenn J. TuttleCrawford CentralCrawford
Dr. Clythera S. HornungSt. Marys AreaElk
Dr. Richard FrerichsPenn ManorLancaster
Joseph C. ZimmermanAnnville-CleonaLebanon
Roberta M. MarcusParklandLehigh
Claire Ann BuckleyKane AreaMcKean
Keith HastingsKane AreaMcKean
Thomas KerekKaneMcKean
Maureen O'LearyLower MerionMontgomery
Janet FlisakSoudertonMontgomery
Rebecca BowmanPeters TownshipWashington
Lawrence BorlandFranklin RegionalWestmoreland
Eric WolfgangCentral YorkYork
Kelly MeffordDover AreaYork

Pennsylvania Association of School Administrators and PSBA host the PASA-PSBA School Leadership Conference each fall to promote public education and advance student achievement through effective governance.

CONTACT: Steve Robinson, Sr. Director of Communications, (O) 717-506-2450 X 3315;

Share this page